Dragonfly Poetry

Love and Be Loved in Return

Original poems by Jeffrey Scott. All rights and privileges reserved 2024.


Play

The first of seven nights

it’s been a half hour

since we’ve last kissed

with these new eyes.

Yesterday, when we were blind,

I honestly did not mind

being lost on the inside

void of this vivid light

I was perfectly fine

lying soulful in my bed.

The afternoon sun

sits perfectly balanced

between a quick moving breeze

I was shielded and alone

protected from everyone.

It wasn’t until

your phone call

you asked me to look

square into your eyes.

That’s when everything changed

a small hopeful glimmer,

you wholeheartedly,

just stared at me.

Unruly hands

are now ready to explore

with a boy-like smile,

you ask

wanna play?



Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Archive

About Me

Thank you for reading my words here at www.dragonflypoet.com Writing poetry has been an important part of my life. The hidden meanings in words is what keeps me publishing the works. My previous series, “DragonflyPoetry” was dedicated to my friend Jo who recently passed away from breast cancer. She passed way too young and a part of her will forever float in my poems.

All Rights and Privileges are Preserved 2023