Dragonfly Poetry

Love and Be Loved in Return

Original poems by Jeffrey Scott. All rights and privileges reserved 2024.


Summer Secret

With a half torn look

she brings the microphone

softly to her lips

and for the first real time

we get to hear that voice.

In front of an audience

she sings her glorious ballads

I swear she was born for this night.

Eyes affixed in adoration

the volume grows around her

we try to sing along.

The bright stage lights

highlight the wonderful performer,

just yesterday we were writing songs

and now tonight, she’s singing

about her brilliant life

strung out here before us.

The dedication in our eyes

I can remember a time

when she was unrecognized,

the competition taken personally

from a place where

her confidences were waining

not believing just how amazing

she looks up on that stage.



Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Archive

About Me

Thank you for reading my words here at www.dragonflypoet.com Writing poetry has been an important part of my life. The hidden meanings in words is what keeps me publishing the works. My previous series, “DragonflyPoetry” was dedicated to my friend Jo who recently passed away from breast cancer. She passed way too young and a part of her will forever float in my poems.

All Rights and Privileges are Preserved 2023